Straight on Through

Things in my head and now …. not

You are there…

I just finished reading and reviewing the book From Pain to Peace by Pat  psalm 139Bluth.  Pat is a local author who I went and listened to her speak last week in Nisswa.  I had went to school with her daughter who was killed by a drunk driver in 1985 and wanted to hear Pat’s faith story.

While reviewing the book I found scripture that spoke to me in such a way, it caused me pause.  I actually stopped reading and read again the scripture.  And then again.  And then, again.

The scripture I am referring to is from Psalm 139:

1 O Lord, you have examined my heart
and know everything about me.
2 You know when I sit down or stand up.
You know my thoughts even when I’m far away.
3 You see me when I travel
and when I rest at home.
You know everything I do.
4 You know what I am going to say
even before I say it, Lord.
5 You go before me and follow me.
You place your hand of blessing on my head.
6 Such knowledge is too wonderful for me,
too great for me to understand! 7 I can never escape from your Spirit!
I can never get away from your presence!
8 If I go up to heaven, you are there;
if I go down to the grave,[a] you are there.

As I read Pat’s book and her time of great grief, I hit upon my times of grief as well.  Reading the above scripture reminded me that even at my lowest low, God was there.  He is always there.  I don’t know why that hit me so profoundly but for some reason it was one of those crazy “aha” moments.

I am sure that each of at different times in our life can look at our situation and forget that God is there.  God is there.  At times we need to really just stop and rest in that knowledge and let Him do His work in us.  There is such comfort in that.

Today – think about where you are and what is going on in your life.  God is there.  Look at the God piece in your life.  Look at the God peace in your life.

See the review for Pat Bluth’s book, From Pain to Peace

June 23, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , ,

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

