Straight on Through

Things in my head and now …. not

S.H.M.I.L.Y. – 30 Days of Prayer

My friend Amy (Dandelion Seeds) introduced me to S.H.M.I.L.Y. (See How Much I Love You).   Currently, I am in a 30 Day S.H.M.I.L.Y.  Event.  In fact, there are over 1,000 women dong this during the month of June.  How exciting is that?

S.H.M.I.L.Y. is a great idea and it is a reason to put on the thinking cap and find ways to show your husband how much you love him.  On Amy’s blog she gives some great ideas to get started with.  For me – the task is a challenge as this time of year there are days that I almost don’t see Al at all.  He gets up at 5 a.m. and is gone until 9 or 10 at night.  Sometimes this is 6 days a week. Well, I have always thought I had a great imagination so I feel I am up to the challenge.

Proverbs 31:10-12 (New Century Version)
10 It is hard to find a good wife,
because she is worth more than rubies.
11 Her husband trusts her completely.
With her, he has everything he needs.
12 She does him good and not harm
for as long as she lives.

We are also praying for our husbands each day and using the book by Stormie O Martian “Power of a Praying Wife” as a guide.  Honestly, sometimes it is hard in my life to want to pray for my husband.  I know that sounds awful.  I know that it is.  In our life, I can sometimes be bitter about how hard he works and how often he is unavailable due to the business, how it is hard to socialize with friends because the business makes it impossible to make plans…..

Yet – I am praying for him because I love him and I know he works hard to provide for us.  I know if it were not for the business I would still be working retail.  I know that because of his sacrifices, I am able to volunteer and be a part of so many wonderful ministries because of the business.  When I really look at it this way – he has sacrificed so much for us.  He never complains about how much time I spend volunteering or working at the church and I know it takes me away from ways I could be helping him.  My life would be so very different if not for him and what he does.

So today I happily began the S.H.M.I.L.Y 30 Days of Prayer.  I started the morning reading the first chapter of the book and praying for Al:  for rest, for support, for peace, for knowing he is loved… and I spent time thinking of how I can make things easier for him.

Tomorrow his lunch will have in it his favorite sandwich and a banana with S.H.M.I.L.Y. on it.

June 1, 2009 - Posted by | Devotion in motion

2 Comments

  1. So glad you’re joining us! Thanks for sharing the link!

    Comment by Amy (Dandelion Seeds) | June 1, 2009

  2. great idea! i’ve joined too.

    Comment by pia | June 1, 2009


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

