Straight on Through

Things in my head and now …. not

Memorials for Memorial Weekend

Not a big fan of cemeteries.

I know… really, who is?

Every year at this time I go and clean up around the cemetery plots of my family.  I cut back the overgrowth around the marker, sweep, pick up the leaves…. and yes I plant a flower or two.  Every year I think at this time that I will be sure to come back weekly throughout spring summer and fall – and I will keep the flowers watered, and I will continue to clean…. but in all reality…. life just does not always allow for me to do this.

So this year, I took my sister Tara’s old wagon out of storage.  I put a  layer of rock in the bottom, filled it with soil and miracle grow and planted literally a wagon load of her favorite flower, pansies.  I then took an old wash bucket, prepped it the same and filled it with zinnias for my mom.  I incorporated my dad in all this by digging through his old tool box and finding plane that I used to prop up the wash bucket so it sits at a tilt.

I put both of these items in my front yard with one of the Adirondack chairs near by.  This is in remembrance of my family.  This I can see each day, care for each day and water as needed.  This… I love.

The cemetery I will continue to care for… but I know they are not there.  I wait for the day that I will see them again.

May 25, 2009 - Posted by | Life thoughts

1 Comment

  1. I agree. This is a much nicer memorial. One that will be tended with lots of love. Those zinnias are the same ones I put on Karen’s grave this year.

    Comment by kadybug | May 26, 2009


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

