Straight on Through

Things in my head and now …. not

Bike Season Here I Come!

bike-24

We are here!  My favorite seasons have begun – Spring, Summer, and fall.  And with the outdoors finally turning to a warmer temp, I am excited to get going on biking and rollerblading!   We are currently two weeks out from the first bike tour on my list for 2009, The Minnesota Ironman.  With this knowledge I have to admit that I have yet to take the bike out of the garage yet in 2009.

Today while at the YMCA, I was reading a biking magazine that geared me up for the seasons upon us.  There was an interesting article on smart snacking – which is something I am trying to achieve but still am battling to wrap my head around the fact that what I put in me for food should be good for me and work for the betterment of me.


  • Don’t be so disciplined in what you eat during the day that it backfired at night and you end up stuffing your face with anything within reach.
  • Keep low cal snacks at hand that fill you up:  fresh fruit, vegies, oatmeal, and popcorn.
  • Eating wholegrain cereal with skim milk at night is a combo of fiber ad carbs that will stick with you until breakfast.
  • Get 8 hours of sleep.
  • Pre event nights you should have plenty of low fat or fat free carbs to energize you for the first part of your bike ride.  Items would include – fat free yogurt, low fat milk shakes, 100% fruit juices.
  • Limit consuming fried foods and ice cream – these foods have far more calories than your body needs to meet short term energy goals.  The excess calories are stored in your body as fat.
  • Get your carbs from vegetables and whole grain.  These carbs are slowly released into your bloodstream for longer lasting energy.  Carbs from sweets are rapidly absorbed.
  • Drink or eat a recovery snack within an hour after working out.  Have a protein bar, or yogurt to replenish.
  • Eat smaller meals (4 to 6) rather than 2 or 3.  Eating smaller amounts of food several times a day minimizes excess calories being stored.
  • Get enough omega 3 fatty acids.  Omega 3 boosts a healthy heart.  You can find this in wild salmon (a fav of mine!) flaxseed, and mackeral.  Omega 3 also increases metabolic rate.

I have spent some time with my cousin Jarrod this past week looking at a bike upgrade from my current bike.  While I love my current bike, he is trying to assist me in getting set up for a bike that will handle these longer treks better.  While I love my current bike – it is kind of exciting to explore these new bikes.

I am looking forward to the upcoming Ironman Ride.  Its not to late if anyone wants to sign up and ride along!  We will head up the night before and stay over – ride – and return.

bike

April 11, 2009 - Posted by | Quest for fitness

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

