Straight on Through

Things in my head and now …. not

Home Show Weekend (MMBA)

mmba_logoI think it has been 5 years now that I have helped in the Concessions for the Mid Minnesota Builders Association.  4 years since I started heading it up each year.

This time of year is not a good time for our company, DeChantal Excavating, to have a booth in a show.  We are usually getting into season, and Al is running around doing bids and meeting customers – weekdays and weekends.  So this is how we contribute, I give my weekend each year to this event to raise money for scholarships.

This year we had so much fun – finally after years of working out quantities and what to serve – I feel like we are pretty close to having it down.  I have built great relationships with local places like Robb (Meat Manager at Cub), and Corey, Manager of Domino’s pizza.  They work with me well to provide the right quantities and quality of food for the show at great prices.

I can not even begin to thank all the great volunteers that donate their time in the Concessions but you all know who you are.  I do have to however thank Deb personally who took the time to get great prices at Sam’s Club this year AND hauled back to Brainerd with her so our profits would be greater.  Thank you!!!!!

It was a great weekend of fun people, lots of laughs, cart wheels for tips (hey – it’s for the kids!)…. and just a great team effort that I think, when all is said and done, will have resulted in a great fundraising effort this year with great results.

It is funny, looking back when I first went on this committee, I really was hoping to be in charge of lining up Seminars for this event.  When I was offered Concessions, I was dissapointed.  That was 4 years ago.  Now – I wouldn’t trade it.  I have built great relationships from our little corner of the show and I just love how it all pulls together for a great cause!

March 30, 2009 - Posted by | Just me

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

