Straight on Through

Things in my head and now …. not

Vegetable Stew

dsc09694Note:  I am no chef…. in fact I really do not enjoy cooking most of the time, but I wish I did!  I think it is a time issue for me and while I admire those who can really create beautiful delicious meals, I usually don’t have the time, skill, or the patience to do it.  However…. once in a while I get a crazy feeling and have the urge to create food….

The following is one of those rare times…

Ingredients:

3 tablespoons olive oil

1 large onion

Small bag of frozen peas

4 cloves of garlic, smashed

1 Tablespoon paprika

1 tablespoon salt

3 Tablespoons flour

1 1/2  pound of *stew meat (browned and cubed)

15 baby carrots

2 parsnips peeled and cut in large chunks

2 large potatoes or 7 small red potatoes, cut into large chunks (I leave the skin on but that is optional)

1 tablespoon vinegar

Pepper

Sour cream

In a large kettle or dutch over heat the oil over medium heat.  Add the onion and garlic and simmer until soft and golden.  Add the paprika and tsp of salt and cook unti the oil turns red.  Add the flour and stir about half a minute and then add 4 cups of cold water while stirring. Add the meat, carrots, parsnips, potatoes, and an additional 1 1/2 tsp. salt.

Bring soup to a boil then cover and turn heat down to a simmer until vegies are tender and broth is thick, about 20 minutes.  Add the vinegar and season to taste.

When serving, put a dollop of sour cream on top of soup, and serve with a warm crusty bread.

dsc09695*You can always change out the stew meat for chicken or turkey, or even a good sausage like kielbasa

You can also mix and match your vegies… in this batch I added two sweet potatoes cubed.  It was actually really good!

March 15, 2009 - Posted by | Recipes

1 Comment

  1. Hi this blog is great I will be recommending it to friends.

    Comment by watcat | March 17, 2009


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

