Straight on Through

Things in my head and now …. not

Maiden Voyage: Of A Snow Shoe Rookie

The day has finally come!  I have talked big about this for months now – but today was the day I finally found something I enjoy doing outdoors in the winter besides making snow angels…

Snow Shoeing!

I have wanted to try for years and just never 1) found the time, 2) made the time, 3) actually took the steps to make it happen.   But no more I say!  I am no longer the procrastinator I once was….  I have now gone… where my feet have never gone before…  within a snow shoe.  (Insert moment of silence here)

Thank you to Kari Lake, who heard of my possible outing if I would actually break down and buy the snow shoes (yet not wanting to spend money on something I may – or may not, enjoy…) I walked into the office on Thursday morning and there they were waiting for me, all shiny and red… I no longer had any excuses to delay.

This morning Betty Vosberg and I went to the Arboretum for a class on snow shoeing.  She already snow shoes, but was interested in seeing what the arboretum had for trails.  Me?  I just wanted to go… I didn’t care where we went.   The day could not have been more perfect for a whiny winter person like me…. a balmy 40 degrees as we stomped through the trails and made our own.  I loved it!  Thanks Sandi, thanks Kari, and thanks Betty!

January 31, 2009 Posted by | Just me | 1 Comment