Straight on Through

Things in my head and now …. not

Karen’s Crossing

karen-and-iLate this afternoon my friend Karen passed away from her two year battle with cancer.  I have mentioned her in recent blog posts, about the visits with her and my amazement in her strength.

Yesterday morning Angie Simmonds had called me to let me know that Karen had just a short time left and asked if I would like to come and see her and say good bye.  I went and was witness to Angie saying her good bye to Karen – her long time friend… and it broke my heart.  Angie has been such an amazing friend to Karen, organizing monthly dinners at Karens home and making her a “red hatter” for her birthday as she always wanted to be one.  I know Angie’s friendship was such a gift to Karen during her battle.

My good bye was just holding her hand and while she could not respond, I believe she could hear me as I told her how much I had cherished our recent talks and how I knew she was ready to go on.  I hated to see her like that and at the same time felt what a precious gift it was to have these moments before she left our world to once again tell her I love her.

Karen has crossed out of this world and I know she is in a better one.  She is no longer sick, bed ridden, tired, or in pain.  She is whole again – more complete than she has ever been.  I will see her again someday .

We love you Karen.

(See Angies Blog Post here)

January 3, 2009 - Posted by | Devotion in motion, Life thoughts

2 Comments

  1. I, like you, am so thankful that I had the opportunity to tell Karen how much I loved her and to tell her goodbye…for now.

    Comment by Angie Simmonds | January 4, 2009

  2. […] Saturday late afternoon Julie called to tell me that Karen had passed away 20 minutes prior. See my blog post on Karen here. […]

    Pingback by Monday Mind Dump « Straight on Through | January 5, 2009


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

