Straight on Through

Things in my head and now …. not

2008… in reflection

I have been so busy lately I have hardly had time to reflect on 2008.  Today, as I finish up a bit of paperwork and am heading home – I decided to breathe in what was 2008… and then exhale it into the wind…letting go.

So what was 2008?

It was the year of going back to the Mansions in Little Falls and celebrating in January with my friends and great pictures…

It was amazingly new as Justin said “yes” to Honduras and changed his world forever!

It was Choltecha, and Las Vegas, it was crazy times of feeling GOD bigger in my life than ever before….

It was the year of the second blog (Journey through Books) and then a third (DeChantal at the Movies)….

It was the miracle of Feed the Children event in an April snowstorm where hundreds of people in the community showed up to bag food…

It was weekends at the cabin… 4 wheeling with friends, hanging with girlfriends…

It was the year of Brad’s Honda, and Justin’s graduation….

It was Mink Lake Camp in June… and Jarrod and Farrah’s wedding…

It was completing the Tour of Saints 50 mile bike tour in July…

It was the year of the four wheel event with Kinship and Chance…

It was the second Queen selection for book club in Prom dresses in Kiwanis Park and laughter until we cried!

It was they year I kayaked with the staff…

It was the 4th Missions Banquet where we sold more tickets and brought in another year of record money to support missions!

It was saying “no” to things I knew I had to let go of… and learning every day that it is ok to say “no,”.

It was a year of great books like Three Cups of Tea and Safely Home by Randy Alcorn…. the 7th year for Bookies!

It was the year of Justin moving out… and Justin moving in…. the year of Brad moving out to Adam’s…

It was the year that Jorge came to Brainerd…. (Holy smokes… still blows me away!)

It was the year the Robin sat on my foot…

It was the year I took back a piece of me I had lost and put myself back on track with fitness and better decisions (and now 25 pounds lighter!)…

It was a year of laughter.. and a year of tears.  It was a year of rejoicing a new birth… and mourning the loss of a neighbor, and a friend.

It was the year the desire came back in me write my book…

It was a year of learning lessons from grandparents and soaking in sweet words that I will carry in my heart forever…

It was a year of taking in great wisdom from someone who has cancer, and learning how to be brave in the face of certain death and embracing God through it all.

It was a year for me of learning a bit more what is truly – TRULY important and what needs to be let go of.

I box it all up and tie it with a bright red bow.  2008 goes into the memory vault.  A shiny new empty box is presented to fill for 2009.

I want to end with this visual I picked up out of a book I read this past year called Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert.  She is describing a New Year’s Eve experience in India as she stands out side with a large group of people singing…

As the minutes pass, it feels to me like we are collectively pulling the year toward us. Like we have roped it with our music, and now we are hauling it across the night sky like it’s a massive fishing net, brimming with all our unknown destinies. And what a heavy net it is, indeed, carrying as it does all the births, deaths, tragedies, wars, love stories, inventions, transformations and calamities that are destined for all of us this year. We keep singing and we keep hauling, hand-over-hand, minute-by-minute, voice after voice, closer and closer. The seconds drop down to midnight and we sing with our biggest effort yet and in this last brave exertion we finally pull the net of the New Year over us, covering both the sky and ourselves with it. God only knows what the year might contain, but now it is here, and we are all beneath it.

Wow… Happy New Year to all!  May 2009 be a year to reflect on – to capture moments in journals, in blogs, in our hearts and know above all else – that God is so good.

January 1, 2009 - Posted by | Devotion in motion, Insane Moments, Just me, Life thoughts

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

