Straight on Through

Things in my head and now …. not

Thanksgiving Morning

The house is quiet.

Al is outside sawing wood for winter.  Justin is still sleeping.  The turkey has been prepped and seasoned and in the oven for over an hour now.  I break with a cup of coffee and sit at my computer and listen….

silence. 

I close my eyes in  prayer to God in thanks for so much….

I am thankful for friends that I have been so blessed with who fill me up day after day.

I am thankful for the variety of people in my life – work out friends, movie friends, coffee friends, dinner friends, “got your back no matter what” friends, walking friends, small group friends, crazy “lets wear formal gowns and stay over night in a mansion” friends, camping friends, hang out friends, serious “go to” friends, help my car don’t start friends, biking friends, friends who challenge me to do better, coffee group friends, new adventure friends, book friends…

I am thankful for family and the opportunities I have to spend time with them and connect.

I am thankful for conversations with Brad, when he shares his heart and calls me to listen.

I am thankful every night I hear the sound of Justin’s car pull into the yard.

I am thankful for a hard working husband who provides for his family.  His provision is what allows me to do charity work in our community.

I am thankful for Chance – 6 years and going strong – a better Kinship Partner I could not have asked for!

I am thankful for great people to work with – real people.  People that make me laugh until I cry (or cry until I laugh) and know that my life is better because they are in it.

I am thankful for birthday club – you know who you are.  🙂

I am thankful for my Wal-Mart friends – my life long unbelievably great relationships with Heidi, Sara, and Cindy.  Our adventures make for incredible memories and I love being crazy with you!

I am thankful for Bookies – my book club who has met monthly since August of 2001.  You are all so great and I love getting together with you every month and talking out a book. 

I am thankful for Amanda – who literally got my off my butt and back on track to taking better care of me. 

I am thankful for the opportunities to see things and experience things that I would never have dreamed of… Honduras, Mink Lake, IHN, Feed the Children…

I am thankful for memories.  I am full of them and they are deep treasures. 

I am thankful for the past – rough unbelievably tough roads I have walked, crawled, clawed, my way up up and know without a doubt that there is no way I would have made it through without God in my life.

I am thankful for what is to come…. and yes, sometimes it scares me…. but again, I know this is all in God’s plan and I am 100% on board – where ever He takes me.

I am thankful for today – the time spent with all of together is rare and I cherish these moments.

I am thankful for God – for more than I could ever put into words in a lifetime of prayers.  He is the reason I am here today.

I am thankful for this quiet morning – a time to reflect before the house fills with conversations, laughter, sharing, and caring.

There is so much more… but this is just a sample of the feelings of thankfulness I am having today.  May everyone have a blessed Thanksgiving filled with joy and new memories!

November 27, 2008 - Posted by | Just me

4 Comments

  1. You rock. 🙂

    Comment by Justin DeChantal | November 27, 2008

  2. I didn’t see the category for “Friends that drive you crazy”….guess you are not thankful for me 😦

    Comment by TT Lago | November 27, 2008

  3. Well Tim, maybe – just maybe you fell under the “got my back no matter what” category…..

    or was it the “let’s wear formal gowns and stay over night in a mansion” category that you fell into….

    I get them mixed up. 🙂

    (Sometimes you just bring things on yourself.) LOL

    Comment by Sheila | November 28, 2008

  4. I have been known to wear a gown in my day!!!

    Comment by TT Lago | November 28, 2008


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

