Straight on Through

Things in my head and now …. not

“Spiritual House Keeping”

Over the past few weeks I have felt strongly called to step back from many of the different things I do and take a season to re evaluate where God wants me.

I have a tenancy to dive into projects and commitments, heart first – and rarely take the time to give it to God first for His input.  I feel a lot of times I make a decision to “GO” and attempt to drag God along with me…  and recently I have become aware that not only is this exhausting me… it isn’t even remotely the right way to go about things.

So… with a heavy heart… this past week I did a bit of Spiritual Housekeeping.  I have prayed on this for direction and felt I needed to step back from many of my ministries to take this time for God to have the lead in my life and show me His will… not mine.

What I have found out so far – is that this decision of letting go, was way more painful than I anticipated.  I have found myself in tears over these decisions many times over the past week and would like to write it off as the fact that I have not been feeling well so I am more emotional, but I don’t think that is true.  I am finding out that the roles I serve in are very important to me and letting them go has left me struggling in a white knuckled way of trying to hang on to them… knowing that God is patiently but firmly saying, “Let Go.”

So here I am.  Feeling broken like I haven’t in a long time.  And as much as this is killing me… the brokeness makes me believe I am on the right track.  Pray for me… to hold strong… and that this Season isn’t long…

Ephesians 1:11 (The Message)

11-12 It’s in Christ that we find out who we are and what we are living for. Long before we first heard of Christ and got our hopes up, he had his eye on us, had designs on us for glorious living, part of the overall purpose he is working out in everything and everyone.
September 22, 2008 - Posted by | Devotion in motion, Just me

4 Comments

  1. I am praying for you. Having just went through this a year ago in giving up the youth ministry team in our church I know what a painful decision this is. But in God’s own time he will reveal his direction for you, and only then will you know it was the right step to take. God bless you in your spiritual journey.

    Comment by kadybug | September 22, 2008

  2. Good for you that you are so in tune to God you not only feel this need but are strong enough to act on it. You are in my prayers.

    Comment by Karen L. | September 23, 2008

  3. You will be in my prayers. I am feeling like I am on the verge of something also…

    Comment by Amber | September 23, 2008

  4. praying for you… know you aren’t struggling alone on the path of seeking God and His desires alone…

    Comment by Amy (Dandelion Seeds) | September 24, 2008


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

