Straight on Through

Things in my head and now …. not

Facebook Rookie

I have finally crossed over.  It has taken me a long time – but I am now a semi – active Face Booker (Bookie? Bookette?).  I believe I set up my account about a year ago.  And by that I mean I created a log in.  I never went back to it and had pretty much forgot what my password was anyway.

Yesterday, my friend Kari sent an invite to a friend on Facebook.  Well of course I wanted to be her friend!  And if I didn’t accept her -was that like a rejection?  So I went on, wrestled around in coming up with my password, and logged on…. to find…..

about 20 people waiting to be accepted as my friend.

And they were my friends, so I went a little click happy accepting all of them.  And as the night went on, I started receiving emails…” ________ has acccepted your friend invitation, ___________ wants to add you as a friend, _____________ wrote on your wall….”

Wrote on my wall???  What wall???

I shared all of this with Kate Richmond who spent the night with me at First Presbyterian last night for our turn at IHN.  She laughed at my Facebook illiteracy.  She explained to me in words I could understand, how it worked and what I should do next.  She actually made it sound like it could be…

fun.

So here I am.  Trying to create profiles, entering pictures, updating friendships, searching for classmates, sharing “what I am doing”, looking up other people, and yes – even writing on walls.

“Sigh.”  So we will see how this goes.  In the meantime, you can check out my next step of madness here:  Sheila’s Facebook Attempt

August 26, 2008 - Posted by | Insane Moments

3 Comments

  1. WOW!! I’m so proud of you! Good job branching out in Cyberspace!

    Kate:)

    Comment by Kate Richmond | August 26, 2008

  2. Good job Sheila. You even loaded a photo. I am impressed.

    Comment by Kari Lake | August 28, 2008

  3. […] – The Verdict Is In… It has been about two weeks since I started my adventures in Facebook.  As in most things I do, I dove right in… no need to mess around, no –  I wanted to know […]

    Pingback by Facebook - The Verdict Is In… « Straight on Through | September 7, 2008


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

