Straight on Through

Things in my head and now …. not

The last entry in the Read Me Book…

I mentioned the read me book some time ago (see it here) in a blog entry. This book was used through the years to communicate with the kids and we would hide it throughout the house and if you found it – you had to write in it.

Here is the first entry from Justin in the read me book:

12/20/98

This is crazy! Brad finally found the book and then left it on the toilet and I found it. I am really happy I got *KOVU today!  I showed him off everywhere today and he has a new pal PLUTO!  My program is coming up at school and it will be cool.  It is on Brad’s birthday.  My favorite song is Sleigh Ride.  I am suppose to be in bed and mom is probably going to yell at me for talking to Brad but now have to hide this where my brother will find it and have to write in it. Maybe the dryer or under his pillow. I have to go. Justin

(* Kovu is a Lion King Character – actually also known as Scar.  I had to look it up because I couldn’t remember what Kovu was either…)

In the very early hours of Tuesday morning as I grabbed laundry out of the laundry room to take upstairs I found it among the clothes Justin had folded Monday night. He must have come across the book while he was packing up his room to move out.

With tears already forming in my eyes I knew he must have written his final entry within the pages of the book. I climbed back into bed holding the book. I opened the book to the front page seeing my boys writing from the late 90’s in big uneven letters… and then I turned to the final entry:

July 1, 2008

Mom,

I am all moved out. I love you and I will miss you. Instead of crying that you miss me, rejoice and celebrate for who I am. I have so much ahead of me, college, bills, and life. I am ready to take on the world.

Thank you for helping me to be who I am today. Don’t hesitate to call because you know I can’t put my phone down. I am just a few miles away. I love you,

Justin

July 3, 2008 - Posted by | Life thoughts

3 Comments

  1. Oh… I love this idea… I went to the post about the book and think I will have to try it. Mike and I had something similar before we were married, and then I think we left it in the hotel on our honeymoon… 2 years of the beginning of our life lost…

    Maybe it’s time to bring back a wonderful thing. In reading your post about it, I think I would look back on it fondly.

    Thanks,
    Amy

    Comment by Amy (Dandelion Seeds) | July 3, 2008

  2. […] Last week was tough with Justin moving out… set me back a bit ( See post here) […]

    Pingback by Monday Mind Dump « Straight on Through | July 7, 2008

  3. […] The Last Installment of the Read Me Book […]

    Pingback by Blogoversary Party Here on Wednesday – You are Invited! « Straight on Through | July 5, 2009


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

