Straight on Through

Things in my head and now …. not

Thursday Thumb Up – GRADUATION!

What a day Thursday was!  Filled with work to do and all the time lingering in the back of my mind…. Justin’s graduating tonight…

I am not real sure why this hit me the way it did.  It’s not like I didn’t know this day was coming…. yet, once it was here… I felt like a season in my life was ending… and it made me a little sad.

Upside….  when a season ends, or a door closes, God provides yet another season… another door…

So last evening Al and I arrived at the school at 5:30 to wait in line for the doors to open at 6pm.  Even at 5:30 the line was long and I was re leaved to finally get into the gym and get seated.

When the kids came in – 555 in all, the largest class in recent history oh BHS, my hear melted a bit.  There were the kids that had been at our house for birthday parties, sleep overs, and camp outs.  There were kids we had driven to sports events, to movies, and to each others houses.  Kids I knew for a season… and some I am still getting to know.

The program was well thought out – the kids were quite funny with the beach balls being tossed through the air while the teachers said no… their last hurrah as a group.  You could feel the energy in the air.

And so, it ended.  Or did it begin? The school careers of these now almost adults… from kindergarten to here.  Pictures were taken, hugs and best wishes handed out.

I look at my 18 year old son and I am so proud of him.

I look at my husband and we are both in awe of having raised two boys to this point.

May 30, 2008 - Posted by | Life thoughts

1 Comment

  1. Mike always cries at graduations… he can’t imagine that some day our kids will be leaving. I told him we can’t keep having children! tee hee… He had a hard time with Joe graduating, but it was different since he’d not been with us the whole time. We had a hard time when he left home last summer though, with the thought that he might never come back to live.

    Hard to imagine that we still have 18 years before our last one leaves… and it’s hard to believe that our oldest is going to be in 7th grade this year. I know all too soon, he’ll be graduating too.

    Thanks for the reminder of how time flies…
    Love,
    Amy

    Comment by Amy (Dandelion Seeds) | May 30, 2008


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

