Straight on Through

Things in my head and now …. not

Be Still…

I didn’t know you could change your life verse. I never wanted to. For as long as I can remember, Philippians 4:13 ` I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me’ has been my power verse.

 

And then… about two years ago… I went to Mink Lake Camp for the first time. And in a rustic garden by beautiful running water, … God gave me a new verse, Be Still And Know That I Am God.” Looking around that space of peace and tranquility I wanted nothing more than to be still and feel His presence surround me.

 

God is our refuge and strength,
always ready to help in times of trouble.
2 So we will not fear when earthquakes come
and the mountains crumble into the sea.
3 Let the oceans roar and foam.
Let the mountains tremble as the waters surge!

4 A river brings joy to the city of our God,
the sacred home of the Most High.
5 God dwells in that city; it cannot be destroyed.
From the very break of day, God will protect it.
6 The nations are in chaos,
and their kingdoms crumble!
God’s voice thunders,
and the earth melts!
7 The Lord of Heaven’s Armies is here among us;
the God of Israel[b] is our fortress.

8 Come, see the glorious works of the Lord:
See how he brings destruction upon the world.
9 He causes wars to end throughout the earth.
He breaks the bow and snaps the spear;
he burns the shields with fire.

10 “Be still, and know that I am God!
I will be honored by every nation.
I will be honored throughout the world.”

11 The Lord of Heaven’s Armies is here among us;
the God of Israel is our fortress.

 

Looking at this PSALM – we know it is more than a time of peace and gardens… The original context of Psalm 46:10 comes from Exodus 14: 13-14. God had just rescued the slaves from the cruel Pharaoh in Egypt. Ten Plagues had broken the king’s spirit, and now the slaves were hurrying to the Sinia desert before Pharaoh changed his mind. But they did not go fast enough as the king did change his mind and now was in hot pursuit. Unorganized, no weapons, just a mass of people including children, and even worse, the red sea lay before them – they were trapped and hopeless. The Red Sea was an angry mass before them and they cried out to Moses, their leader.

 

This is the first example of Holy War in the Bible. God’s brand of Holy War. Be still and know that I Am.

Exodus 14: 13-14 reads: “Moses answered the people, “Do not be afraid. Stand firm and you will see the deliverance the Lord will bring you today. The Egyptians you see today you will never see again. The Lord will fight for you, you only need to be still.”

 

You need to only be still.

 

Psalm 46 speaks of troubling times, roaring seas, crumbling mountains and kingdoms. Yet at the conclusion of the Psalm we hear God speak, “Be still and know that I am God.” He tells us that in the worst of times we must stop hurrying and worrying. Just be still! And in that stillness see Him as the God He truly is.

 

I think back to that peaceful day in the garden at Mink and know now that there is so much more to this verse. In times of great struggle and grief I have felt God’s Hand on me as though He was holding me up.

 

I know He was.

May 20, 2008 - Posted by | Devotion in motion

2 Comments

  1. Okay… I just wrote my comment for this on the post underneath… duh! 🙂

    Comment by Amy (Dandelion Seeds) | May 21, 2008

  2. Goosebumps here. Thanks for the reminder.

    Comment by Karen L. | May 22, 2008


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

