Straight on Through

Things in my head and now …. not

Experiencing God….

Have you ever been a part of anything that was so big… it could not succeed unless God was in it?

I have just lived it.

For the second time, we had planned a Bagging Food For Honduras Event. A team of about 8 people really pulled together to put up posters, brochures, and spreading the word. Our goal was to have 400 people participate. Last fall, we had about 250.

Last week Wendy’s Restaurant in Brainerd offered to donate all the chili for the event. Chili for 400 people. Rolfing Distributing offered bottled water and pop.

And then Friday night it started to snow and we were in a snow storm warning – predicting 6 to 12 inches of snow. This late in April that was just unbelievable. As I drove in on slippery and snow covered roads to the Franklin Arts Center that morning the radio was announcing cancellation after cancellation. I prayed that this would not keep people away…

The event started at 11:00 a.m. on Saturday and the people came in singles, couples, and groups…. before my eyes the gym filled with hands and hearts willing to help…. at final count I am told there were over 500 people throughout the day who participated in this event.

When the chili ran low… Wendy’s donated 3 large buckets more. Talking with Sarah Goodrow, she said many people who went through the line loaded their plates with several of the delectable desserts that were brought in, yet at the end of the event – there was still tempting desserts left… Loaves and fishes…

Take time to see Mark’s Blog and the great video he shot – click here

April 28, 2008 - Posted by | Devotion in motion

7 Comments

  1. GREAT SHOTS – WHAT A GREAT DAY

    Comment by Mark | April 28, 2008

  2. Yes, I have to agree with Mark. This day was awesome. I loved filling the bags and can’t wait to do it again in a year. Seeing the blessings and smiles that this food will bring to Hondurans is going to be as fun as last February was!

    Comment by Justin DeChantal | April 28, 2008

  3. Wow…that day was amazing!
    God is good, all the time.
    He put a song of priase in this heart of mine!

    =D

    ~kK

    Comment by Katie Klasky | April 29, 2008

  4. Praise Jesus, this event was just so awesome and I know God’s hand was definitely in this all day!! I just felt God’s smile in me all day and what a thing to do for THE kingdom and HIS brothers and sisters as Jesus says in the Bible: “When you fed the least of my brothers and sister you did it to me.” Matthew 26

    Comment by Justin Lapka | April 29, 2008

  5. Thanks Justin – That is one of my favorite versus. : )

    Comment by sdechantal | April 29, 2008

  6. This day was truly a landmark of faith for me. I saw the sovereignty of God in action. Driving to the event, I wondered how many people would really venture out onto the icy roads that morning. I arrived before the “start time” to find the parking lot full of cars! From that point on, for me, it was as if time stopped. Throughout the whole experience I had the deep awareness that God had shown up in our midst. I saw the community at work, doing the work God has called His Church to do. It was humbling for me to be a part of that experience. The Word tells us if we give a glass of water (or a bag of food!) in Jesus’ name, it will be counted for eternity. What a wonderful day it was. JK

    Comment by Joel Keller | May 3, 2008

  7. Joel – I was just re – reading your comment here and you are so right. There is no way this event should have been a success… but it was. And we know why.

    Comment by sdechantal | August 4, 2008


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

