Straight on Through

Things in my head and now …. not

What Would Your Name Have Been?

A fun conversation emerged in the office recently… what would your name have been if you would have been born the opposite sex? 

For me… if I would have been a boy my name would have been Rory.  Apparently, as I was told, there was a great western actor Rory Calhoun who I would have been named after.  Hoo boy… maybe that’s why I really don’t like country music….. 

So there’s mine… come on everybody – can’t wait to hear … what would your name have been?

April 16, 2008 - Posted by | Insane Moments

19 Comments

  1. If I were a girl I would have been named Petra, but pronounced Peachra.

    Comment by Brett Richmond | April 16, 2008

  2. Ok, this may sound odd, but I wasn’t named until I was 2 days old. So I don’t have a boy name. My parents couldn’t agree on a name, and they didn’t have any names picked out. They got my first name from a French foreign exchange student, and my middle name is after my aunt who was born 3 years before me (on the same day) and she died when she was 3 months old.

    So to prevent the nameless baby thing from happening again, my parents had the name Kelly Ray/Rae picked out for the baby born after me. The middle name spelled depended on boy or girl. So I have a brother named Kelly.

    Comment by Joelle Schmidt | April 16, 2008

  3. My name would have been Keera. Instead I was born a boy and named the plain and normal name of Justin. 🙂

    Comment by Justin DeChantal | April 16, 2008

  4. Mine would have been Sheila…but then I came out so cute!

    Comment by TT Lago | April 16, 2008

  5. I would have been Matthew…not to exciting!

    Comment by Kate | April 17, 2008

  6. Tim… I underestimated you – I thought for sure you would comment on the horse in the picture and ask which one I would have been. But no…. you aim for the heart. Ha ha!

    Comment by Sheila | April 17, 2008

  7. My parents had wanted a boy when I was born. I was their fourth daughter. They had the name Roger picked out. So they defaulted to naming me after 2 missionaries, Betty was in Moracco and Ruth in Japan. They had to wait to put my name on the birth certificate because they were not sure if I was to than be a Elizabeth and Betty for short. Oh by the way I do have a little sister. Five daughters blessed my father who was a farmer and wanted ranch hands.

    Comment by Betty | April 17, 2008

  8. I would of been Mark. How boring!!!!! Instead I was named after the famous Beach Boys Song, Barbara Ann! I actually hate the name Barb. Barbie or Barbara, anything but BARB.

    Comment by Barb Schroeder | April 17, 2008

  9. I was born on the feast of St. Bernadette so that was it! If I would have been a boy it would have been John. Hince my brothers names are John jacob-Thomas Jacob and Jacob John-named after my dad, John and grandfathers Thomas and Jacob. My boys are also names after thier grandfathers -Justin James and Jarid John Johnson. Funny how people pick names. My sisters Leanella after a nun in Arizon and Alica after a robot on The Twilight Zone-34 yrs ago b/4 Alicia was popular. What a Hoot!!!

    Comment by Bernadette (Bernie) Finch | April 17, 2008

  10. Greg was named after -guess who -Gregory Peck.

    Comment by Gregory Finch | April 17, 2008

  11. My parents wanted a boy so bad, they did not have any girl names picked out. When my Grandmother came to see me, she said that I looked like a Deborah. That is how I got my name.

    Comment by Deb | April 17, 2008

  12. I was named after the famous Anna Nicole Smith- just kidding, They had no male name choosen for me. My Auntie had lost a child that she had named Anna Catherine. I stayed nameless for days and then they gave me Anna Catherine. My life is so boring compared to horses and gregory Peck and Saints and famous songs and all that stuff.

    Comment by Anna Smith | April 17, 2008

  13. My parents wanted a boy so bad, they did not have any girl names picked out. When my Grandmother came to see me, she said that I looked like a Deborah. That is how I got my name.

    Comment by Deb | April 17, 2008

  14. If I were a boy, my parents would have named me Xavier.
    My dad wanted to name my older brother, Apollo, but mom wouldn’t have it. My bro became a Jeffrey John Paul instead… Oh to have 3 names!

    My kids, yeah, like I’ll ever have any, would be…
    Pierren or Xavier (boy’s names)
    Nadeene (sounds like Nadine), Nechole (sounds like Nicole), &/or Nayohmi (sounds like Naomi) (girl’s names)

    Comment by Jennifer Prueser | April 17, 2008

  15. My boy name was John Arthur. My mom had about six girls names picked out, and my dad didn’t like any of them. They finally settled on Carla Kay, and then my mom’s best friend had a baby three months before me and used that name, so my mom didn’t want me to have the same name (thank goodness). My mom was watching her soaps one day and heard the name Julie, and my dad actually liked it, so that how I got my girl name.

    Comment by Julie Mudgett | April 18, 2008

  16. […] I posted a fun blog that drew in a lot of great comments….  see it here […]

    Pingback by Late Monday Mind Dump « Straight on Through | April 21, 2008

  17. I would have been Chad if born a boy. I was born with dark hair and therefore named Amber. If I hade been born with blonde hair I would have been Carrie. My hair went blonde when I was about 2. 🙂 Guess I was meant to be an Amber.

    Comment by Amber | April 22, 2008

  18. Okay…….do you know how hard it is to get a senile old woman to remember what she would have named me 39 years ago. It took some time, but her answer was Paul. My mother was into naming her children very traditional names if they were boys, but ended up with a Heidi and an Alauna for the girls. When I complained of being a brunette and brown eyed “Heidi” she said the alternative would have been Doroty Edith……..so needless to say…….

    Comment by Heidi | April 22, 2008

  19. I am just amazed at the names that came out of this discussion…. that was fun – thanks! : )

    Comment by Sheila DeChantal | April 26, 2008


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

