Straight on Through

Things in my head and now …. not

Wii Did It!

In recent weeks Justin has had the opportunity to use a Wii gaming machine at a friends home.  Coming home and sharing this experience with Al and I, he wanted to pursue one for our home and I had told him I would help him… I had no idea they were so hard to get a hold of…

Doing a bit of research we learned that they were coming out in Wal-Mart’s ad on Sunday… and that meant that they would be available at 12:01 a.m., Saturday night … er… Sunday morning.  Never having had the opportunity to camp out for concert tickets or chain myself to a tree for a great cause, I told Justin I would do this with him.

We were forwarned that people started lining up early and once enough people were waiting for the amount they were getting in (10) then that was it.  So at 8:00 p.m. on Saturday evening I found myself in Wal-Mart with book in hand.  They hooked me up with a chair and told me I was #1.  (Well… isn’t that nice…. you certainly don’t get to hear that very often now do you?  ha ha) 

So Justin and I held the number one spot followed by a gentleman who didn’t know what the Wii was or cared… but his boss gave him $40 if he would come in and get one for them.  As the line grew by 10 p.m. there were enough people waiting to account for the 10 Wii’s. 

As the night went on…. the electronics department set us up with a TV and DVD player and we were able to watch I Am Legend during our wait.  Even later as the goofiness of our situation set in, we made up songs such as:

Wii are Family

Wii Are The World….

Wii are the champions

Wii Belong Together

(… you get it…)

and at 12:01 we (wii) made it and we (wii) had it!  While I know the whole thing was a bit crazy… it was a little fun too and it was really fun to do something that crazy with Justin. 

wii.png

March 31, 2008 - Posted by | Insane Moments

3 Comments

  1. […] Justin and I waited 4 hours Saturday night in line for the Wii – bonding moment… read the story here […]

    Pingback by Monday Mind Dump…. « Straight on Through | March 31, 2008

  2. Where did you go Wii Wii?

    Comment by TT Lago | March 31, 2008

  3. HA HA – yer soooooooo funny Tim…..

    Comment by sdechantal | March 31, 2008


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

