Straight on Through

Things in my head and now …. not

Thursday Thumbs Up!

Last week my BFF (Best Friend Forever) from High School called me. I haven’t heard from her in about a year and a half and haven’t seen her since 1995. It was so great to hear her! What is it with friendships like that? You can go for years without connecting and then suddenly you hear their voice and I instantly have memories of:

  • Driving way too fast in the firebird….
  • Leaving Greg in a tree…. (you’ll have to ask… it’s pretty funny)
  • The Nisswa Roller Rink every Friday night
  • Our made up dance to Van Halen’s ‘Jump’ (we were SOOOO COOL!)
  • The same stick of gum we put in every letter when I moved to Bemidji and she lived in Brainerd (I don’t even know how that started)
  • jumping in South Long Lake one week after the ice went off (kids, don’t try that at home)
  • Staying at each others houses and laughing until 4:00 a.m.
  • Watching Michael Jackson’s Thriller on MTV over and over and over and over…
  • spitting pop all over the Game of Life board when she tossed play money at me and called me “peasant”.

It’s like Traci (the BFF) said, “It doesn’t matter that here we are in our 40’s… we get on the phone and we are 16 again… laughing and sharing, remembering the times we had together like it was yesterday.

So my Thursday Thumbs Up is to old friends (and by old – I mean long term… not age). They knew you when…. and it is kind of fun to have people like that around… because sometimes we forget who we were and it is good to have the reality check.

Thanks Friend! I look forward to many more great conversations!


February 28, 2008 - Posted by | Just me

1 Comment

  1. It was monopoly, not LIFE you peasant. Remember I owned everything. Ha Ha Well it was our own crazy version..

    Comment by Traci (The BFF) | February 29, 2008


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

