Straight on Through

Things in my head and now …. not

Merry Holidays? Happy Christmas?

I am a stickler for Merry Christmas.  I love to say it – and prefer it to Happy Holidays.  I don’t believe Christ should be taken out of Christmas and that’s just me.  I know there are people who feel Happy Holidays is just as warm a greeting and it also covers Christmas and New Years in one swoop.  I get that.  I just prefer Merry Christmas.

This year finding Christmas cards that said “Merry Christmas” in them was difficult.  I went through the entire stock this particular store had and only found one card that said Merry Christmas.  I bought 4 boxes.

Yesterday I was on a business call in the office and at the end of our conversation the lady on the line said, “Happy Holidays!”

I replied, “Merry Christmas,” and she excitedly said, “Thank you – now I can say it – Merry Christmas.”

I asked her what she meant and she said that they were not allowed to say Merry Christmas unless it was said to them first.   I don’t know why I find that shocking – but I still do.

So – to my friends and family – here and there, all over the world… if I don’t get a chance to say it in person, “Merry Christmas!”

December 19, 2007 - Posted by | Life thoughts

2 Comments

  1. Happy X-Mas

    Comment by Brett Richmond | December 20, 2007

  2. WWWWHHHHHAAAAATTTTTTT???? Ha ha!

    Comment by sdechantal | December 20, 2007


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

