Straight on Through

Things in my head and now …. not

Oh No… SNOW

b.jpgThere it was this morning… on my back deck.  All white and trying to look cute, but I was not fooled.  I blinked.  Blinked again.  Rubbed my eyes and peaked through the cracks in my fingers.  Snow.  My arch enemy.  My cryptonite that weakens me and draws me into my home for a season… the winter season. 

I know it is inevitable… I mean, we do live in Minnesota after all… home of the snowmobiling frenzy and the yearly Ice Fishing Extravaganza.  It is shoveling and slippery roads.  It is dig out my coat and find my mittens cold.  It is windows up in the car and heat blasting me in the face cold. 

But to me… a green Christmas would be ideal. (After all isn’t green the new pink?)  Picture it… grilling the turkey on the deck while family and friends play yard games like horse shoes and volleyball.  We would open gifts that evening around a campfire, singing Christmas songs while we roasted marshmallows and sucked on candy canes.  Chestnuts roasting on an open grill….

Ok… I’ll let it go.  There are a lot more snow fans in this area then there are the anti-snow people like me.  So once again I will put on a happy face, a strong outward appearance, and big boots.  My attitude will be positively delightful as I look for my window scraper.  Yay… snow.

November 9, 2007 - Posted by | Insane Moments

5 Comments

  1. Hmmm… Seeing as I dance in my driveway the first time I see snowflakes every glorious winter, this blog entry speaks to me. I LOVE snowmobiling, I LOVE sledding, and I LOVE making plans with my friends that revolve around the snow. Just think of last year… it was feverishly cold to the point where going outside was just a “nice idea” that nobody did because of the frost bite eating away at the door. Snow to me is beautiful. Do you know that not even one snowflake in the world is identical to another? Now, who is that guy who makes all this stuff happen? Who created everything unique in the world? Oh yes, God. Snow is his creation and it is beautiful. I would like to extend my grattitude towards your effort to become one of us, how you say, “snow fans” and pray for a white Christmas. We will be having a white Christmas this year because white is the new green. Trust me on this one, Mom.

    Comment by Justin DeChantal | November 9, 2007

  2. Amen Justin!

    Comment by Bret Richmond | November 10, 2007

  3. I feel… outnumbered.

    : )

    Comment by sdechantal | November 11, 2007

  4. Sheila, I tend to learn your way on this one BUT, we spent Christmas 2004 in Florida, and believe me it is NOT the same. There was really something missing! It was not lack of holiday homes dressed to the hilt as those palm trees look wonderful all lite up! People in the south decorate much more than we do here. (Partly I imagine because their fingers and toes don’t freeze solid) but also because they are trying to decorate to “get the feeling” a feeling that we get when we wake up to a white Christmas, like a picture postcard. I searched that year for Christmas cards with palm trees on them and did find a few but most were covered in a new snow fall yes even in Florida! Now Lets talk about temps in the mid 70’s for January and I am totally with ya!

    Comment by Sandi | November 13, 2007

  5. that’s lean your way not learn-oops

    Comment by Sandi | November 13, 2007


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

