Straight on Through

Things in my head and now …. not

Thursday Thumbs Up

a1.jpgThis weeks tribute is a real winner. Probably one of the best movies of all time for me. Shawshank Redemption.

Andy Dufresne is a young and successful banker whose life changes drastically when he is convicted and sentenced to life imprisonment for the murder of his wife and her lover. Set in the 1940’s, the film shows how Andy, with the help of his friend Red, the prison entrepreneur, turns out to be a most unconventional prisoner.

This movie really spoke volumes to me. Andy is a great character who truly is not a bad guy, just in a bad situation. Andy is a great example of making the best out of what you have. With Tim Robbins as Andy and Morgan Freeman as Redd… this is a movie you can watch again and again. I highly recommend if you have not seen this movie to rent it one of these cool pre-winter evenings.

  • Best quote: Andy Dufresne: If they ever try to trace any of those accounts, they’re gonna end up chasing a figment of my imagination.

  • Red: Well, I’ll be … Did I say you were good? You’re a Rembrandt!

  • Andy Dufresne: Yeah. The funny thing is – on the outside, I was an honest man, straight as an arrow. I had to come to prison to be a crook.
November 8, 2007 - Posted by | movies and popcorn and candy ... oh my!

1 Comment

  1. Here’s my favorite quote:
    Andy Dufresne: Get busy living, or get busy dying.

    And the Middle Schooler in me likes this one:
    Warden Samuel Norton: Lord! It’s a miracle! Man up and vanished like a fart in the wind!

    Comment by Bret Richmond | November 10, 2007


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

