Straight on Through

Things in my head and now …. not

God’s House

I was recently reading a book by Luci Swindoll and she was speaking about a home that she built recently and dedicated that home to God. What an idea – and even more, what an awesome way to look at our homes.

Creating an “open door policy” when it comes to sharing our lives, and our homes, intrigues me. This is like a shift in how we think about the blessings that God has given us. Those blessings include our home. I know people who live this out. They amaze me. Their door is always open to stop by to talk, laugh, or cry. They always have on a fresh pot of coffee and some sort of goodie to go with it. I am more the “home is my down time girl”… relaxing with a book, popcorn and a movie…

Then I take this thought of God’s House, and apply it to small groups. By saying yes to open your home to a small group of people to share your life, isn’t that yes to the God’s House idea? Think of the possibilities – a neighbor over for coffee, offering your home for a meeting, get togethers, potlucks… God’s House.

You know…. I really like the sound of that.

“The ornament of a house is the friends who frequent it” ~ Ralph Waldo Emerson

November 8, 2007 - Posted by | Devotion in motion

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

