Straight on Through

Things in my head and now …. not

Do Not Miss The Dance

The Dance

This song really speaks to me. The first time I heard it was on June 6th, 1997. I remember this because it was a year to the day of the accident that took my mom and step dad’s life.
This song was dedicated to them on the radio as a memory. I had never heard it before and it touched my heart. Still does.
This song reminds me that no matter what each of us is carrying in the loss of a friendship, a loved one…God has a plan.
Listen to the words. Really listen: I’m glad I didn’t know, the way it all would end, the way it all would go. Our lives are better left to chance, I could have missed the pain, but I’d have had to miss the dance.
If we had known what was coming – the loss, the pain, would we have treated these people in our lives differently? Would we have handled our relationships with kid gloves – afraid of offending?
Each moment – each person is precious. Our time with them – we just never know how much we have been given. Be thankful for what we have and never miss a moment to let someone know that we care.
If that song would have been given to me to listen to around the time of the accident I would have been upset – what did they know? Of course if I would have known this was going to be the end result I would have chosen my time with them differently, spent more time, done more together, arranged my life so I wouldn’t have to be hurt… (think of the joy I would have also missed out on.)
Truth is – we have the time that God has given us and we, I, am thankful for having these precious people in my life for the time I did. What a gift. The memories are mine. Your memories are yours.
Live. Bring joy to those you have in your life – this my friends, is the Dance.

November 6, 2007 - Posted by | Devotion in motion

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

