Straight on Through

Things in my head and now …. not

The Last Day

Due to recent events in my life I have been thinking about my mom a lot.  This morning as I prepped for my day and I was about to hustle out of the bathroom, I noticed the sink should be wiped down.  I can do it later, I thought.  Then I thought, what if this is my last day and I am not coming back?

This is not the first time I have went through this scenario and I am almost a little hesitant to share this, yet I wonder if others think this too.

I remember coming into this house, mom’s house, for the first time after she had passed away.  I was the first one. The normalcy of the home… scattered magazines on the table, her favorite blanket on the couch.  A new lasagna in the refrigerator, probably for dinner that night.  Clothes on the line.  This was not the look of a home of someone who was not planning to come back.  Yet, I wonder what that morning was like for her as she prepared to go to work.  Did she hesitate before she left the house?  Did she give it one last look?  Was there an inkling of what was to come?

Then I come to the present and think of what would be found in my home if this was my last day.  Does it matter that I should have dusted this week?  Or thrown out that leftover pizza?  Could you analize my life by being that first one in my house?

God has told us that there will not be a last day – but a new begining.  I don’t believe He cares what my house looks like, but instead, what my soul looks like.  Perhaps lingering over a devotion or my Bible is more important than the shinyness of my counters.

I can pull up that memory of mom’s house that last day like it was yesterday.  I like remembering for whatever reason it brings me comfort. 

 I have definately been broken, but I know God has made me whole again.  I am who I am because of where I have been.  The valley has been dark, and at times the tears errupt out of the cracks on my once brokeness, but God has been with me every step of the way.

What if this was your last day… what is the current condition of your soul?  Are you ready?

November 3, 2007 - Posted by | Devotion in motion

5 Comments

  1. Sheila….very well written…really puts into perspective what is truly important in life. Plus the darn thing made me cry! Don’t tell anyone…but I think you are pretty darn cool!

    Comment by T Lago | November 3, 2007

  2. Awesome, Sheila! You’re so cool! Always a deep thought from your heart shared in the blogs…. I love that about you. I am so delighted that you came to see me today and that we had the time we did, sharing, laughing, and blessing me with your friendship.
    I too, wish that there were more of those times for us.
    There is not a time when you cross my mind that I don’t recall how precious your heart & soul friendship has been to me. If…. Father God called and asked me what I thought the condition of Sheila’s heart and soul are I would recommend the best house on the block for you and request that I could be your neighbor!
    You’re a blessing to all who meet you, heart & soul!
    In Him
    Cathy

    Comment by Cathy | November 3, 2007

  3. Tears here too…thanks for the awesome thoughts. I love your blog.

    Comment by Mark Bjorlo | November 4, 2007

  4. Sheila,

    Are you sure you shouldn’t be an associate pastor? Pretty deep – but very accurate. Keep it up!

    Re: The Dance song – we played that at Regan’s wake and when it came on, everyone went quiet and you could tell they were listening to the words and taking it to heart. I got goose bumps.

    Comment by Karen L. | November 6, 2007

  5. AMEN!!! Too often I am NOT happy with the results to that question… If we only could keep THAT in perspective every hour… every minute… every second of every day… every month… every year… how would our lives be different?

    OUCH!

    Comment by Amy (Dandelion Seeds) | November 8, 2007


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

