Straight on Through

Things in my head and now …. not

The “Read Me” Book

dsc05196.jpgEach week I enjoy reading Pastor Mark’s blog about how he is spending time with one of his children.  I also enjoy reading about his family times and adventures.  Pastor Brett does the same thing through his family blog, the funny ins and outs and great memories of life with children.

Today I was reading Brett’s Children’s Church blog about his funny moments this past Sunday.  I am so on the other end of this with my own kids 19 and 17, yet I took a moment to remember some of the great things we used to do when they were young.

Then I remembered the “Read Me book”.  This book was created out of a three ring binder, and blank sheets of lines paper inside.  I think Justin designed the cover.  The point of this book was to hide it somewhere in our home, and whoever found it had to journal in it – at least a few words… how they were doing, what was going on in their life, whatever.

For years we had a blast with this book.  We would hide it in the dryer, in the refrigerator, the microwave, couch cushions, under books, in back packs wherever.  The rule was the finder had to journal and then hide it again.  Sometimes there would be several journals in a day, other times it may not show up for a few weeks and then be discovered in a cupboard, under the couch… you get the idea.

Justin and I are the writers in the family so we have years of recorded funny conversations as well as moments of the two brothers not getting along.  Brad and Al were not the writing type, so for them the hiding had to be more obvious to get them involved- like in their pillow case, or in the bed sheets. 

The result of this book is that for a ten year span we have recorded priceless journal entries from full page conversations to “found it” or pictures.  To this day, when it turns up it is still fun to put it back in play… which tonight, I did just that. 

Watch out Justin … it is out there.

October 31, 2007 - Posted by | Just me

5 Comments

  1. I love it. Neat idea… thanks for passing it on.

    Comment by Tena Pettis | October 31, 2007

  2. This is a great idea, I can’t wait til my kids are old enough to read and write so we can do this.

    Great idea!! Way to BEE an inventive parent.

    Comment by Brett Richmond | November 1, 2007

  3. why does my last comment say “November 1, 2007 at12:27 am” when it’s really only “October 31, 2007 at 7:27 pm”

    Comment by Brett Richmond | November 1, 2007

  4. Hi Brett – I have no idea… my time is wrong on this and I do not know how to correct it. I will call maintenance, see what they can do. : )

    Comment by sdechantal | November 1, 2007

  5. […] last entry in the Read Me Book… I mentioned the read me book some time ago (see it here) in a blog entry. This book was used through the years to communicate with the kids and we would […]

    Pingback by The last entry in the Read Me Book… « Straight on Through | July 3, 2008


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

