Straight on Through

Things in my head and now …. not

Thumbs Up Thursday

a.jpgI am a movie nut.  I don’t know what the infatuation is… maybe the story lines, the whit, the comedy,or the mystery, but I like movies.  Really.  A lot.  AND, I like to talk about movies, just not as much as I like to talk about books and authors.

So… my Thursday Thumbs Up will be a weekly review of a movie from the past, possibly current, we will just have to see where this goes.

To start, my first movie review is a blast back to 1982 (moment of silence for the 80’s).. Grease 2.

Why 2?  Because my friends, Grease 2 ROCKED over the original Grease.  I will argue this with anyone.  The music?  Way better.  The characters?  Better.  Theme?  Better.

My favorite memory of Grease 2 is the ‘Girl for all Seasons’ song they do at the talent show.  Fall seems to stick in my mind lately, just ask my family who has had to put up with my poor rendition of “If you fall in the fall, you’ll see, September can be heavenly.
If you fall, say you’ll fall for me,when autumn leaves are fallin’ from the trees.” 
Anyway…. the song ends with Stephanie (Michele Pheifer) as December and she finishes the song with a verse that brings me to tears every time.

Here are some fun facts about this movie:

  • While John Travolta and Olivia Newton John were originally in meetings over continueing their roles – they were not pursued after the first initial meeting.
  • The girl who played Dolores did not complete the movie as she was in a car accident mid way through.  A stand in finished her role for her and is used in the talent show sequence.
  • After the twins fall into the pool with Balmudo during the luau they reappear in the crowd behind the T-Birds nice and dry when Michael gets his jacket.
  • After the song “Who’s that guy?” on the widescreen version, the couple that were sitting on the same car as the pink ladies enter the Bowlarama twice.
  • During the luau people appear and disappear on the boat.
  • As Michael prepares to jump on his bike at the luau, he is not wearing a helmet. But when he jumps over the pool, and lands, he is.
  • At the luau near the end of the film, the teacher, Mr Spears walks into the pool and is soaked, a couple of minutes later he is seen standing and completely dry.

  • A fun movie with a teenage theme.  I love the setting of the 60’s.  This is a great grab your honey, a burger, and a chocolate shake and sit down and enjoy!
October 17, 2007 - Posted by | movies and popcorn and candy ... oh my!

2 Comments

  1. Beware of the Peep

    Comment by D. Wite Peep | October 18, 2007

  2. Ok… I’m trying to figure out which of you ladies I was with this morning did this…. I will find out…. oh, I will find out. (It was funny in a creepy sort of way.)
    : )

    Comment by Sheila | October 18, 2007


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

