Straight on Through

Things in my head and now …. not

Reflections…

When I was about 19, I had a great core group of friends. One of my buddies at the time was Troy. I remember Troy once said that the way to tell if a woman was truly beautiful was when her hair was all wet and and slicked back, not styled, and no make up – like fresh from the shower.

I don’t know why that has stuck with me, but through the years I have occasionally thought about that comment. This morning while I was getting ready to go to coffee – hair still wet, I thought about it again.

Looking in the mirror – my reflection can show many things. When I have tired eyes, or I am stressed, that shows up not only in the mirror, but to others who see me throughout the day as well. What I find interesting are the characteristics of faith that seem to have etched their way into that reflection… when did that show up? And peace… is it possible to see peace on someone? Yes.

These characteristics carry their own beauty. I love that. Not hard eyes from a life of past darkness… but warmth and compassion. God’s love shows up, not only in us… but on us.

Look for yourself… what do you see?

beauty1.jpg

September 20, 2007 - Posted by | Devotion in motion

2 Comments

  1. […] post Reflections is awesome! Looking in the mirror – my reflection can show many things. When I have tired eyes, or I […]

    Pingback by Sheila is Blogging :) « | September 21, 2007

  2. I think Troy had a great thought!! hats off..

    Comment by rav | September 29, 2007


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

