Straight on Through

Things in my head and now …. not

The Brave One

brave.jpgI took in a movie on Sunday afternoon. The Brave One starring Jodie Foster. I like her as an actress and I love that she plays strong women roles. This movie, while a bit too graphic in parts, spoke to me. The basic story line is that while her fiance and her were walking their dog through a park in New York, they were beaten by a group of men. Her fiance dies from the beating. Jodie who in turn becomes angry and eaten up with grief, takes her revenge into her own hands when the police don’t move on it fast enough.

Another movie that came out about 10 years ago that had a similar theme is Eye For and Eye. In this movie, Sally Field plays the role of a mother whose child is brutally murdered and you see first hand what grief can do – from laughing at a time that is completely inappropriate, to crying over a pillow that is washed and no longer carries the scent of the person who has passed away.

I get that.

There have been times in my own life when grief devoured me. I went through a period where in my mind I could see a darkness and knew if I did not keep moving forward I would slip into that darkness and not return. Pain in my past has consumed me. I looked in all the wrong places for the answers to: Are they still with me? Can they hear me? How do I know they are ok? Is there life after this?

That lost person is no longer me. I walk each day by Faith in God. I know He holds the answers and He knows what my heart yearns for every day. Every day. Not a day goes by that I don’t remember… but I remember with joy, knowing what awaits me through salvation. In my heart I carry them… knowing God has kept them safe.

I am a patchwork of pieces that have been broken… and mended. But each piece tells a story of who I am. Because of these many pieces I have been able to relate to others who have been through similar. I learned a long time ago to never say, “I know how you feel…” because for each of us – it is different. Personal even. I can say however, that God is with them and hopefully help lead them to a strength in Him.

September 16, 2007 - Posted by | movies and popcorn and candy ... oh my!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

