Straight on Through

Things in my head and now …. not

A Match Made in Heaven

5 years ago this month, I signed up to be a Kinship Partner. Our own kids were 12 and 14 and it seemed to be a good time in our life to share with someone else.

I went in for my interview where they asked about my hobbies, where we lived, what our life style was like, etc… all to find a child who fit into our life and area we live in. A couple days later a letter came in the mail with about 5 different kids on the list (first name only) and a brief description about what they liked to do. I looked over the list and I chose a 7 year old boy.

Chance entered our lives.

Kinship sets up an initial meeting between the child, the child’s parent or guardian and the mentor (in this case – me). As the days led to this meeting I grew a little nervous. What if we didn’t get along? I’m not exactly a kid magnet…. what if he just didn’t like us…

I shouldn’t have wasted my time worrying – from the moment I first met Chance, I was hooked on this kid. Life with Chance has been fun… we have grown together. In a nutshell… the past 5 years for us have looked like this: football gameshomemade pizzasmovies – snow angels – video gameswalks on the trailboard gamesCounty Fairmaking cookies – making s’mores – car racesswimmingcorn mazefishingshoveling snow together – kyaking – cleaning ditches for Sertomas – hiking – cleaning up at Mink Lake CampSleddingstaying overhanging out with Al coming to family gatherings – outdoor concerts – roller blading (sort of)biking talking on the phonebirthday plansMiniature golf – grilling on the deckValley FairPlaying Pass Master for an hour and a half in the car until our voices gave outraking leaves  at Camp JIM -reading – school playsHarry Pottereating popcorn with m & m’s in ithanging out with Justin – watching Pearl Harbor … againhelping at the soup kitchenKinship Events – picnics – Ice Fishing – “hunting wabbits” – cub scoutsknex – talking A LOT…

Currently our local Kinship Partners is doing a drive called 100 Mentors in 100 days. I would highly encourage anyone to get on board and be a part of this incredible program. Let me share with you the reasons I hear most why people think they can not be a mentor:

  1. I am too busy with my own kids. (That is great! As a Mentor you just bring your Kinship Partner along with what you are already doing for your family – sports events, picnics, the park, hanging around the house, watching a movie…)
  2. I don’t have any extra money to be a mentor. (Kinship discourages the Mentors spending much money on the kids. You are suppose to bring them into your every day life. Working on cleaning the garage out? Have them come over… renting a movie, working in your garden, go to the library, walk in the park, sit and talk). Make times like going out for ice cream, to a movie, or out to eat, a special occcasion.)
  3. I just don’t have time to take on one more commitment. (Kinship asks that you try to spend an hour a week with the child. Does that always happen? No. Some weeks I barely get to talk to him, and other weeks we spend several hours together. You can at least call them on the phone and talk to them about their week for a few minutes on the weeks that you are unavailable. And again, don’t make the Kinship relationship a burden. It isn’t. You do not need to plan special projects and outings for your time out. Simply make them a part of what you are already doing.)

Did I know 5 years ago when I said yes to Kinship that Chance would become a part of our lives well into the future? Nope… but I don’t regret a moment of this kid coming into our lives.

September 14, 2007 - Posted by | Life thoughts

5 Comments

  1. Mom…
    I feel the same way, the kid simply rocks. I love kinship partners and what can I say, the kid grew on me… Kinda like fungi.

    Comment by Justin DeChantal | September 14, 2007

  2. Sheila, you guys rock for investing so much love into a great kid.

    Comment by David Downing | September 17, 2007

  3. Sheila,
    What a blessing you have been to Kinship Partners and Chance. Thanks so much for taking the time to let other people know about Kinship Partners and how having a junior partner can fit into just about anyone’s lifestyle!

    Comment by Pam Bundy | September 17, 2007

  4. Sheila: What a wonderful testimonial for Kinship and a great blog.

    Comment by Deb Anderson | October 5, 2007

  5. […] This is an update to a blog I posted about a year and a half ago (previous post). […]

    Pingback by A Journey Through Kinship « Straight on Through | February 5, 2009


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

