Straight on Through

Things in my head and now …. not

Letting Go of Commitment Overload…

aaa.jpgGoing from zero to crazy in 60 seconds has been a long time habit. Lately I have been really liking my down time. I can see some of my habits changing just by looking at my agenda and flipping through the past year to present. (*Note – this is not due to age…)

I like “free time”. (I know, I know, who doesn’t?) I like non commitment days. My favorite being Saturdays where I do not work for either office and if I have no game plan for the day – all the better. I like to know I can go somewhere if I want to… but I don’t have to.

I find myself enjoying reading more than TV more and more. I love days where when I drive home I know I am staying there for the rest of the day and I do not have to leave again.

I find myself choosing commitments more carefully so as not to just fill my life with “stuff”, but with only the things that mean enough to me to make a commitment. Doing things just to please others has been a long time habit that I am learning is not only exhausting, but totally unnecessary.

It is easy to think that by doing doing doing… you are on the right track. People can be really impressed by how much you do – and well, that can be a trap too, even if you are doing God’s work.

As a child of God, my commitment is to Him first. It is a great idea to take a day a week and not commit to anything, but give that day to God and let Him bring to you what He thinks should be on your plate. God knows when we need to rest and I am so thankful for that! Resting in Him is as easy as letting go and literally – letting God.

” May the night gently wash away my built up tension,
and award me the freedom to rest.
Giving my soul the time to bloom, I surrender myself.
Letting go of the busy world, I honor Him.
Guided by Faith, by love, moving beyond the shadows of my past,
I receive encouragement to let go.
I rejoice and embrace my loving God.”

 

August 13, 2007 - Posted by | Life thoughts

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

