Straight on Through

Things in my head and now …. not

One Person’s Trash…

Ok… here’s the story… you be the judge.

We were having the annual church garage sale for Missions. I had spent 10 hours the previous day along with a dedicated, hard working, crew to set the sale up and mark the items.

Having left at midnight the Friday before the sale, I was up at 5 a.m. on Saturday to put the signs in place around all the construction going on that blocked the main entrances to Franklin Art center where we were having the sale.

On Saturday, Tim Lake showed up with his wonderful hard working wife Kari to help at the sale. Kari straightened items on the tables, and displayed items in a way that people grabbed them and bought them quickly. Tim sat on a chair.

Who could blame me when the opportunity arose to have a delivery of a large item and I suggested to the customer that Tim would love to deliver the item to her home. And, is it really my fault that when he left to make the delivery that his wallet was laying in the chair he had previously occupied? And, it couldn’t possibly be a bad thing to offer the wallet as a donation and drop it in our donation bucket… or cover it with dollar bills so it was not easily found?

The priceless part was when later (Tim still unaware that his wallet was missing), he tried to pay for a loverly glass dish that Kari had discovered – only to discover – NO WALLET!

Feverishly (if you can picture it…) Tim runs around “the chair” area (as we know, he did not stray too far from it) and then outside to check the front of the building. I am pretty sure I cackled a bit.

When Tim came back in the building, out of the corner of my eye, I seen him heading for me. Fully prepared to take my neck ringing while he tried to choke the wallet sighting out of me…. I was instead surprised when instead, he flipped me on to his shoulder, carried me outside and tossed me in the dumpster. IN THE DUMPSTER!

My screams throughout the gym did not save me. As you can see, it was also a photo op.

So – there it is. Not my first time in a dump… but my first time in a dumpster.

in-the-dumps.jpg

August 7, 2007 - Posted by | Insane Moments

1 Comment

  1. So…I can assume now that all your stories are fictional!

    Comment by T Lago | August 7, 2007


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

