Straight on Through

Things in my head and now …. not

Dragon Boat Racing

This weekend, I took off to our cabin in Finland, Minnesota with two of my friends, Heidi and Cindy. This was our girls weekend get away and we were planning on exploring the area and doing a little shopping.

On Saturday our goal was Grand Marais. As I pulled out of our driveway Saturday morning our neighbor was at her mail box and I stopped to say hi. I told her we were going to Grand Marais for the day and she said that the dragon races were going on and they were such fun. I had no idea what a dragon race was, but hey, I am always up for an adventure so off we went 50 miles up the North Shore.

When we arrived in Grand Marais the day was beautiful and we could see all the people gathered around Lake Superior. We found a place to park and went and sat on the cement wall that surrounds a portion of the lake to see what was happening. The first thing I became aware of was the drum… a steady beat and then you seen the boats… long boats (I soon learned that each boat holds 22 people, a drummer and in back, a steerer). The teams paddle for the finish line to the beat of the drum. The drummer seems to have a very important job, they call out for the team, “Paddles up!” or “Steady!”

Many of the teams had kids in their boat, minimum age is 14. They came in and you could tell they were clearly having fun. Other teams were all adults and you could see they took the race very seriously, a much stronger team, their paddling was something to see as they races into the finish area and the crowd would go wild. These teams were all part of a racing event to raise money for Cancer Research.

Within hours of the event, I had found a local who gave us information on how you submit papers to put together a team, that the boats are all set up with drum and everything, you just pay your team rate and bring the people. He offered us and our husbands to be a part of his team next year and I am hoping that Al and I meet with him again this next weekend to discuss this more.

So I am sure I will post more on this weekend as it was a great time, but for now, the Dragon Boat Racing is truly something to see!

dragon.jpg

July 30, 2007 - Posted by | Just me

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

