Straight on Through

Things in my head and now …. not

What’s on your book shelf?

I have been reading since as long as I can remember.  In second grade I received the book worm award at the end of the school year.  Who knew all these years later, I may still be in the running for that very award? 

I love books.  As a child I loved Judy Blume (certainly you remember, “Are you there God, it’s me Margaret”), Erma Bombeck, all of the Nancy Drew books and the Hardy boys too.  I loved the adventure and the mystery trapped within the pages. 

I still have not outgrown the adventure.  Yet now, my taste in books is all over the board.  I read not only for enjoyment but also for knowledge.  I can’t seem to get enough.  I read fiction and non fiction, Christian and Christian Fiction.

My favorite fiction authors are Harlen Coben (an amazing author good mysteries with a fantastic sense of humor), and Jodi Picoult (Jodi takes hard topics and makes them into can’t put down reads that I am amazed how gracefully she handles each unique situation).

My favorite Christian Authors go from Francine Rivers (a must!), John MacArthur, Paul Maier, Roxanne Henke, Randall Arthur, Mark Batterson (0ne book and I was hooked…), Phillip Yancey and Bill Hybel.

I keep a book journal and write what I think of each book as I read so many, sometimes I lose track and will start a book I have already read only to get about 50 pages in and realize I know how it ends.  Some day I hope to make one of our rooms in the house a library!  (Don’t tell Al!) : )

(not pictures is my new Archaeoligical Bible that was a birthday gift this year.  I just love it and I forgot to take a picture of it!)

July 25, 2007 - Posted by | Just me

1 Comment

  1. […] my thumbs up goes to shared books.  It is no secret at all that I enjoy reading.  From my blog on What’s On Your Book Shelf, from last July, to the more recent blog in December on Books […]

    Pingback by Thursday Thumbs Up (just a couple days late…) « Straight on Through | January 19, 2008


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

