Straight on Through

Things in my head and now …. not

Queen… for a while…

I am part of a great book club of women called “Bookies”, that have been together for 6 years! We started our group with three people in August of 2001. The Book Club began because at the time I worked for Wal-Mart and found it sad that many of us had worked together for 10 years and hardly knew one another.

So… it began… and now we have 12 of us who attend our monthly book reviews at various restaurants throughout Brainerd and Baxter.

This month was our annual potluck picnic at Kiwanis Park. The girls thought it would be fun if we all dressed up as the girls had in one of the book we had read this year and have an election for “Queen of the Bookies.” We laughed about the thought of pulling brides maid dresses and old prom dresses out of the back of our closets.

On Tuesday, July 10, we paraded ourselves to Kiwanis and I was thrilled to see that every one of the girls who were able to attend had dressed up. The “election of Queen”, was fantastic, with cue cards and poetry being read to win the election. In the end, it was my friend Amy Price who won the honor to be the Queen until our next election at our December meeting. Amy had the honor of wearing the crown (borrowed from Joelle Schmidt) and the scepter as well as being able to sit on the royal throne!

It was suggested that maybe for December we dress up as our favorite book character from books we have read this year. Hmmm…

July 11, 2007 - Posted by | Insane Moments

2 Comments

  1. I love the idea of reading what God lays on your heart. You have so much insight , wisdom and such a great way with words. I will enjoy seeing if you like blogging as much as I think you will.

    Comment by Mark Bjorlo | July 12, 2007

  2. […] First things first…. if you look at my Blogeversary countdown you may be confused….  we are no where near by blogeversary date!  HOWEVER – this Wednesday is my Blogeversary, as it is the date I started blogging on my original blog, Straight On Through.  What is fun about this is that the book blog was actually an after thought almost a year later, and it was more for me… to keep track of what I have read.  Interestingly enough, my very first real post (other than the “Here we Go” post)  on Straight on Through… was about books:  see the first post here […]

    Pingback by You are Invited to my Blogeversary Party! « One Persons Journey through a world of Books | July 5, 2009


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

