Straight on Through

Things in my head and now …. not

Blogoversary Party Here on Wednesday – You are Invited!

Clipart Illustration of a Bunch Of Floating Party Balloons With

Wow…. it really is hard to believe I have been doing this for two years. I remember when Mark was trying to convince me to do this… I was so nervous about putting my words out there…. I have always wanted to be a writer, and this was a great mini fix for me but I just didn’t want to share things about me. Looking back, I have no idea why….

Originally I wanted my blog to be private and I would only let friends, family, and my book club of course into the sharing of what was on my mind. It took a while to go public where it would show up on search engines but eventually I took that leap.

It was in March of 2008 that I added the book blog and that was public, but more for me to record my thoughts on what I was reading.  It was kind of an afterthought, and as I finished a book I would blog my thoughts at One Persons Journey Through a World of Books.  (If I only knew then, what I know now… that title would have been shorter!)  This was really my way of getting away from the years of journaling my books  in many three ring binders.

Then – even more recently, I found my way into a whole new world….  book blogs….  author sites…. publisher sites…. areas to sign up to review books before they come out to the public….  and I felt like… I had finally – finally, found my fit with this passion for books that I had since I was three.

So sum this all up – I am now able to share my book reviews with a much wider audience than I could have ever imagined.  That little blog that started out with maybe a person or two reading it a week now continuously has over 200 visitors a day and growing.  I love that I am able to share this passion!

So – in honor of this, my two year Blogoversary, be sure to stop by One Persons Journey Through a World of Books on Wednesday and sign up for the great giveaway that will take place on that day only.

Thank you to all of you who stop on by, for sharing in my life… nutty as it is at times… (and there are some nutty posts here…)

Here are some on my favorite moments over the past year…

Tattoo Day

Bookies (Book Club) Queen Event)

February 2009 Honduras Trip

Night at the Mansion

The odd McDonalds Story

The Last Installment of the Read Me Book

Kinship w/ Lakes Area Wheelers!

The Fairy Godmothers Guide to Mother’s Day

Graduation Day!

What would your name have been?

July 5, 2009 - Posted by | Just me

6 Comments »

  1. You’ve done a great job with your blog !! Happy Blogoversary!
    Oh i read about your first tattoo and i had my first tattoo at 43!!! Wasn’t it an awesome experience? Something i always thought was naughty and “why would anyone want to mark up their body??”!!! LOL!!

    Comment by Natalie | July 6, 2009 | Reply

  2. Sheila,

    I have really enjoyed following the blog. You do a great job writing and expressing your feelings. You have made me feel happy, sad and everything between reading these….thanks.

    Comment by Tim | July 7, 2009 | Reply

  3. [...] You may notice by the Blogoversary widget that I am no where near my Blogoversary date…. but this is not my original blog… see here for the story and a link to my very first post! Click here [...]

    Pingback by Welcome to the Blogoversary Party!!! « One Persons Journey through a world of Books | July 7, 2009 | Reply

  4. I really like your blog and am glad you plugged away for two years. Why do we women always think less of ourselves? Just keep jumping on in there girl! and Happy Blogaversary! Go eat some ice cream and chocolate.
    rebecca dot cox @ charter dot net

    Comment by Rebecca Cox | July 8, 2009 | Reply

  5. Happy blogoversary!

    Comment by Teena in Toronto | July 8, 2009 | Reply

  6. Happy Blogoversary!! I’ve been book blogging myself almost a year and a half and love this online world with authors, book publishers, and of course all the free books!! :-)

    Comment by Farrah from The Book Faery Reviews | July 25, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

