Straight on Through

Things in my head and now …. not

The Prayer Wives are Coming! The Prayer Wives are Coming!!!

praying wifeWow. Truly this was an event of prayers heard around the world.

It is day 3o of the the SHMILY Challenge along with the reading of The Power of a Praying Wife by Stormie O Martian.  I look back over the last 30 days and I am so excited and thankful that I was able to be a part of something so big.

My friend Amy at Dandelion Seeds, had wanted to have a group of women read this book together, a chapter a day throughout the month of June.  Amy, and her husband Mike had prayed that if she sent out the word to her email and Facebook friends, wouldn’t it be cool if 250 women around the world all did this together?

Within days of Amy putting the word out the emails were flying in…. friends told friends…. and so on… and so on…  by the time the dust cleared, Amy had 1,730 women involved in this but would guess the count to be closer to 1,800.  The dream – was God size…. so how do you handle such a large group?  Amy communicated through out the process with her blog, and Facebook Groups… she did an amazing job and if you look at the comments on her blog from women all over the world ( seriously – Bahamas, Ukraine, Philppians, France, Japan….  you will have to look at the cluster map on her site!)

SO – my little input here in Brainerd?  God sized as well.  If you know me, you know that Al and I are business owners.  We own an excavating company and this time of year is crazy busy for Al.  He is up and prepping for his day at 5:30 am each morning and usually not back in the house until between 8 and 10 pm at night.  We dont see much of each other this time of year and for me, with two grown kids and a lot of alone time – it can be quite frustrating.

To sum this up without getting too wordy (hopefully)… I read my chapter daily (almost or caught up if I missed a day) and I prayed a lot more for my husband than I probably ever have.  Along with this I took Amy’s SHMILY (see how Much I Love You) challenge as well and found little ways to show my appreciation of how hard he works.

Here is one example:  I thought it would be kind of neat to change his name in my cell phone to something more meaningful.  It took some thinking as you dont have a lot of space to use but I came up with “A GREAT MAN”.  I thought it would be cool to get calls from and make calls to A GREAT MAN.

This hit home just a couple days later.  I had forgot about the cell name change and I hadnt used it.  On a Sunday evening Al and I were getting home from an event around 8 pm and he said he had to go back to work in the office.  I was so frustrated that he had to go to work AGAIN that I verbalized that and not too kindly.  Our office is on our home property so he walked out to the office and I stormed into the house.

I thought about this a while and knew that he didn’t want to go back to the office any more than I wanted him too.  I had just put more stress and pressure on him by loudly expressing that.  He was prepping the next days work and I knew it had to be done.  I went to call him to apologize and when I picked up my cell to do that, I seen it.  A GREAT MAN.  I knew that I was in the wrong and I did apologize and offer to help him.

Over all this was an incredible learning experience and exercise for me.  Many times, the prayer I was saying for him… I knew was also for me…. patience and priorities…. kindness and peace of heart…  I took more time to listen to God through all this and made it a priority to help him more instead of feeling angry that he was so busy.  All in all this book helped up communicate better.  I would recommend this book to any married woman.

Check out Amy’s posts if you have some time.  Pick up the book I will repeat this book again soon.  I also have a copy of this book for giveaway on One Persons Journey Through a World of Books.  Stop be there and sign up.  I would love to offer this treasure.

June 30, 2009 - Posted by | Devotion in motion

3 Comments

  1. [...] Power of a Praying Wife by Stormie O Martian (+ giveaway) Posted on June 30, 2009 by sdechantal I recently entered a really cool 30 day challenge with about 1,300 women around the world and part of that challenge was to read a chapter a day out of this book.  (See more about the challenge details at my blog Straight On Through.) [...]

    Pingback by Power of a Praying Wife by Stormie O Martian (+ giveaway) « One Persons Journey through a world of Books | June 30, 2009

  2. Thanks so much for joining us! What an amazing thing! God is so good! I hope to finish making my posts this week, as well as some of the stories from women who participated! Let me know if you wanna put something in too…

    Comment by Amy (Dandelion Seeds) | July 6, 2009

  3. thank you for posting this, i came around thru breadcrumbs… this really means alot and i am signed up for the September praying for our children! thank you!!!!

    Comment by minnetta | August 1, 2009


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

